Finished Product

My birdhouses are ready to go!  I put two coats of latex semi-gloss paint (Martha Stewart’s Tobacco Leaf) on the mainframe of the houses and painted the perches a shade of red (also Martha Stewart paint, but I couldn’t read the name through a previous slosh on the can).  I don’t know how easily intimidated birds are by colors, so I played it safe and used a neutral beige color.

If you look closely, you may see some “stuff” inside the birdhouses.  I left some dried “skin” inside and thought the birds might like to clean that out to their liking.

These birdhouses didn’t take much time or skill to build, and I didn’t leave a very big mess during the process. It’s a great project for folks of any age.  I plan to grow another crop of birdhouse gourds this year to have as projects next winter.  It’s just another “fruit” of the garden that can be enjoyed during the cold winter months.

Leave a Reply

