Starting Seeds Indoors

                                                                                   

Starting seeds indoors is so much fun.  I love to watch the little sprouts pop up in our bay window.  It’s fun and it’s challenging.  This is my fourth year of indoor plant starting and each year I’ve learned something new.

  •  Always use seed starting soil mixture.  These mixtures are high in phosphorus which promotes root growth.
  •  Wet the starting mixture a bit before planting your seeds.  It takes a while for the starting mixture to absorb water.  Let the water soak in and then add your seed otherwise your seed floats to a place you might not want it to set.
    •  Place a clear plastic wrap loosely over the top of your seeds and remove it after the seeds have germinated.  The plastic makes a nice, humid atmosphere for the seeds to germinate.
  •  Place your seed tray in direct sun.
    •  Keep your seeds moist, but not waterlogged.
  •  Transplant your tomato plants into individual peat pots when they have formed at least two leaves.

 As you can see in the picture, I planted my tomato seed in three rows.  I marked my rows with a colored flag that corresponds to the color on my seed packet.  I used colored electrical tape and toothpicks to make my flags.

 So that’s it.  I started my tomato seeds today.  Let’s see what happens.

Leave a Reply

