Hardening Plants

Some of the tomato, broccoli, and basil plants that I had started from seed are now a couple of inches tall.  It’s time to start the hardening process, their acclimation to the outdoors.  This is my plan for hardening them:

  • Every day for at least a week, I set them outside.  The first day it’s only for about 4 hours. I leave them outdoors longer each day.
  • In the beginning, I try to keep them protected from the wind.

Some people will harden their plants for two weeks, but I’m afraid I’m too impatient to do that.  My plants will have a week to toughen up.

Hardening is not difficult, just time-consuming, and it’s very helpful (perhaps even essential?) in getting your plants off to a good start in your garden.

Leave a Reply

