Celebrating Our Sweet Potato Harvest

                                                                                

I am celebrating the harvest of our first sweet potato crop.  I tried to grow them last year, but either the rabbits or the ground hogs or both mowed them down shortly after I’d planted them. Thanks to my husband for a fortified fence, this year we have sweet potatoes!

Since I’ve never grown sweet potatoes before, I’m new to the curing and storage process.  I did some checking on the Internet and found an excellent article about it at the Learn2Grow website

http://www.learn2grow.com/projects/edibles/preservationstorage/SweetPotatoesCuringStorage.aspx.

As you can see in the pictures, I’ve put our sweet potatoes into crates and have them sitting in the sun during the day and sleeping in the garage at night for a couple of weeks.  After this curing period, I’ll keep them in our garage.  I would put them in the barn, but I want to keep the mice away from them.

                                                                           

Very soon, we’ll be enjoying sweet potato pie!

Leave a Reply

