Holding Onto Thanksgiving

I know Thanksgiving was last week, but I’m not ready to let go of it just yet. There are so many blessings and gifts to appreciate.   After scorching heat and a devastating drought, I’m amazed  and so thankful for our garden.  I don’t see how any plant could survive and yet the tomatoes, sweet potatoes, zucchini, pumpkins, watermelons, carrots, and potatoes came through for us.  Our flowers suffered, but they performed better than expected, too.  These photos are a very small sample of our flowers this year.

I hope I learned some gardening lessons last summer because I’ve read that the winter in north central Missouri is forecasted to be dry which doesn’t bode well for gardening next year.  But instead of worrying, I look onto our plowed garden and dream of next year’s bumper crop.  If you’re like me, you can’t wait to get the 2013 seed catalogs!

Happy Thanksgiving!      

 

Leave a Reply

