Incredible Sweet Corn

barngardensnow13

If I could only get there, I’d start cleaning up the garden.  As you can see, there is a huge snow drift in front of our barn garden’s fence that’s so big, I can’t get close.  But that’s not stopping me from thinking about planting.  I bought some Incredible sweet corn seed this morning at the hardware store.

Incredible is a new-to-me sugar enhanced variety of yellow sweet corn. It grows 8 feet tall stalks and 9 inch long ears.  It’s ready to harvest in 85 days.  This variety may test my restraint. It will not germinate in cold soils, so I need to wait until the soil temperature is 60 degrees before I plant.

I’m looking forward to trying this variety.  It’s hard not to get excited about something that’s sugar enhanced.  But in the meantime, I’ll try to be patient as I wait for the snow and the icicles to melt.

house icicle

Leave a Reply

