What Can You Do?

snow 2013

I looked out the window yesterday, March 25th, and all I saw was snow.  This time last year our garden was already disked and lettuce was in the ground.  The calendar says it’s time to plant.  So what did I do?  I planted…indoors. I started Better Boy and cherry tomatoes, sweet green peppers, jalapeno peppers, and tomatillos.  It sounds like I’m ready for salsa, doesn’t it?

indoor seed starting

I filled peat pots with seed starting mix and placed them in yogurt containers to keep my spills to a minimum.  I used warm water to moisten the soil mix and loosely covered them with a plastic sheet before I set them in our sunny bedroom window.

It wasn’t quite like digging in the soil, but it was still quite satisfying to plant those little seeds and dream of this summer’s fresh salsa.

2 thoughts on “What Can You Do?

  1. Pingback: Genius Ways to Repurpose Yogurt Containers | The Storage Blog

Leave a Reply

