Lucky Buckeyes

Single Buckeye

There are many legends and myths surrounding the buckeye.  Some men carry them in their pockets, believing (wishing? hoping?) that it will improve their mojo.  Other people carry them in pockets or purses in hopes that they’ll receive a windfall of money.  Still others, think it helps their rheumatism and other health issues.

Buckeye & Walnut in Shell

My husband and I collect a few of these good-luck nuggets every autumn when they drop from trees lining our bottom ground. Above is a picture of a buckeye and a walnut in their outer shells to show their difference in size and texture. The walnut looks like some kind of citrus fruit, doesn’t it?

The picture below is of three buckeyes, the top one with its shell halfway-off.  Occasionally two buckeyes will be in one shell.

Buckeyes and a Half Shell

For several years I have carried a buckeye in the pocket of an old jacket.  Has it brought me good luck?  Well, I haven’t received any great sums of money since I’ve had it. But I must say that I have been very lucky, very blessed.  Each time I discover the buckeye in my pocket, I’m reminded of how blessed I am.  Perhaps that is what makes charms like buckeyes lucky.

2 thoughts on “Lucky Buckeyes

Leave a Reply

