Unexpected Treasure

Moon Cactus

What do you do when you can’t find a 2.5” or 3” pot for an orchid that needs repotting?  Buy a plant that’s in a pot you need, at least that’s what I did. Last week, I couldn’t find a container to re-pot an orchid I’d recently bought. I’m always checking out plants that are on sale and I happened upon a terrific deal.  For next to nothing, I got a moon cactus that was in a 2.5” pot.

I’ve never been drawn to cacti, but the moon cactus is pretty cool.  It’s actually a grafted plant.  The orange/red bloom is a separate plant that contains no chlorophyll and therefore needs the green plant it is grafted to in order to survive. Unfortunately, this plant is not one you’ll be passing down for generations. Its lifetime is anywhere from a few months to a few years.

The moon cactus isn’t a fussy plant. It needs indirect light (direct sunlight may harm it) and normal indoor temperatures. Like me, it’s not a cold weather lover. Water it thoroughly, but let it dry out between waterings. Don’t let the roots set in water or else they may rot.

Moon Cactus

I’m so happy with my little treasure.  As we dig out today from yet another snowstorm, I’m thankful for every bit of color I can get in the house.

2 thoughts on “Unexpected Treasure

  1. Thank you, Terry, for the lesson on the moon cactus. I never knew it was a grafted plant. Our prickly pears (planted outside) have all turned light pink and are laying down (literally) under the snow. But, they will perk up (and upwards) and go green this spring. It is truly a funny thing to behold!

  2. Paula, those cactus are a lot hardier than I am! Isn’t this winter something else? It’s amazing how these plants can go dormant and then wake up in the spring ready to go–and without any caffeine!

Leave a Reply

